p r o t o s l e e p

p r o t o s l e e p


About Protosleep

Making music since 2012

Here we create records, edit audio, score films, and mix & master projects from our home in Torbay, Newfoundland.

The studio is engineered by Terry Barrow. By day Terry is employed as an engineer creating signal processing software. On evenings and weekends he works with protosleep clients on various projects.


Live Room

Our custom built live room has been carefully planned to optimize acoustics. It has several absorborers and diffusors carefully placed to get the most out of our cozy space.

Control Room and Meeting space

A great recording starts with a great performance, so we have created a space that allows the artist to focus on the performance, not the proceedure. We have removed "the glass" and created an open working space where artists can feel comfortable. Our clients always say they feel like they are performing in their living room while working here.


We record after 7pm on weekdays and after 10am weekends


$30 per hour.



Mixing and Mastering

We also offer mixing and mastering services for digital distribution. In our acoustically treated mixing space, we use high quality plugins from Waves, Universal Audio, Native Instruments and others.

We allow up to 3 revisions per mix. Please have your project ready in clearly labeled WAV files. We also accept project files in Logic Pro.


Mixing: $40 per song.

Mastering: $15 per song.

Mixing and mastering combo: $50 per song.



Condenser Microphones

  1. AKG c214 (x2)
  2. Sennheiser MK4
  3. Audio Technica AT3035
  4. Blue Spark
  5. AKG c418 Drum mic (x2)

Dynamic Microphones

  1. Shure SM57
  2. Sennheiser MD 421 MKII
  3. Sennheiser e835 (x2)
  4. AKG D112

Ribbon Microphone

  1. Apex 210

Channel Strips

We use a 1994 DDA Interface Console for recording channel strips.


In addition to the DDA Console channel strips we also have:

  1. Apollo Unison UA 610b
  2. Apollo Unison Neve 1073
  3. ART MPA Gold
  4. Shure SCM268 Microphone Mixer

Interface and A/D

We use the Universal Audio Apollo Twin Thunderbolt interface. We also use a Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 as an A/D to increase the number of input channels to 10 via ADAT.

Computer and Software

We use the lastest version of Logic Pro X on a 2012 Macbook Pro (i7, 8GB, SSD upgrade). We also use plugins from Waves, UAD, Native Instruments, and more.

Other Outboard

  1. ART VLA II Compressor.


  1. Gretch Catalina Ash 5pc
  2. 2010 Gibson Les Paul Studio
  3. 1997 Godin SD
  4. 2006 Seagull Maritime
  5. Squire VM Shortscale bass
  6. Casio Privia CX 88-key
  7. Oxygen 49 USB Controller
  8. NI Maschine Mikro MK2
  9. Fender Hotrod Deluxe
  10. Modded Marshall DSL 15c


If you have a project in mind that we can assist with, leave us a message and we'll get back to you as soon as possible.

You can find us on facebook, twitter and Instagram.